Best Service - Great Selection - Always Low Prices
Finest Quality Indian Snuffs

Sir Walter Scott snuffs back in stockSnuv: Herbal Range

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID






Please consider helping to support the Snuffhouse forum.

Sir Walter Scott back in stock

Juxtaposers Snuff Reviews

JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
edited August 2012 in Types of Snuff
Review for De Kralingse Latakia AO 1860
08-10-2008 06:09PMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: High
Dark, smokey, course, a delicious intermezzo from the SP snuffs. A bit rich for all day use. Recommended.

Review for De Kralingse Oranje
08-10-2008 06:10PMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: High
Great tobacco! See the 1860 review. The addition of orange sounds fantastic but was found to be elusive. It may be that I had some old stock. The snuff still had some very interesting nuances. I will be revisiting.

Review for Dholakia Kamal
08-10-2008 06:11PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
Very perfumed! Something like Musk with a nice warm Rose base. Extra fine. Somewhat fluffy. Very exotic with a feeling of the far east.

Review for Dholakia Chakali (Sparrow)
08-10-2008 06:12PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: Huge
Very fine and fluffy. Strong tobacco flavor. Cigar like aroma. A must try for any American style snuff lover.

Review for Fribourg & Treyer Old Paris
08-10-2008 06:13PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
Date liqueur, Cuban style tobacco with a medium grind. This stuff is world class. A little rough on the nose and very subtle in flavor make it a challenging snuff in that you will tend to snuff it till it hurts. A highly recommended experience of subliminal addiction.

Review for Fribourg & Treyer Seville
08-10-2008 06:14PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
A beautiful simple fragrance. Fine and fluffy. Neroli, orange flower oil, is something special. A familiar scent for most makes a nice perfumed snuff for dreamland adventuring.

Review for McChrystals Original and Genuine
08-10-2008 06:15PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
Nice and soft texture. Great Menthol/Eucalyptus combo. Sweet but not fruity. This is my standard for mentholated. I plan to never be out of stock with this snuff! Highly recommended.

Review for McChrystals S'nuff
08-10-2008 06:16PMGrind: CoarseMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
Mildly flavored Bergamot. Somewhat coarse but soft. Very easy to take. Not oily or sticky at all so keeping clean is easy. A good snuff to share for an introduction. Not as strong as expected but I feel that may be a good thing. Not a highly coveted snuff for me.

Review for McChrystals Stammheimer Hopfen Schnupf
08-10-2008 06:16PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
Fantastic flavor. A must try. Very tasty. One of the most edible snuffs that I have tried. Makes a good aperitif. I'm exited to discover blend combinations that would harmonize this most distinctive note.

Review for Fribourg & Treyer High Dry Toast
08-10-2008 06:17PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
Very light and delicious. Fine, dry, toasty stuff. Smells of old leather. Very earthy in a light way. This snuff is a classic.

Review for Poschl Gawith Apricot08-10-2008 06:18PMGrind: FineMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
Strong menthol hit. Wonderful apricot undertones. Sweet but not too sweet. Soft and moist. Great containers. Widely available so there is no excuse not to try. I love the fruity menthol's for use out doors.

Review for Poschl Lowenprise
08-10-2008 06:20PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
A very good snuff. Licorice not Anise. The menthol overpowers the subtle licorice though. I wish it had a more eucalyptus menthol like Ozona President, but I may not know better. If you like the other semi-sweet Mentholatum's from Poschl then do try.

Review for Poschl Ozona President
08-10-2008 06:20PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
Love the eucalyptus! The bottom note is also delicious though I cannot put my finger on it. Great containers. I love snuffing off the back of my hand with Poschl. This snuff awakened me to the differences between the eucalyptus, camphor, and menthol crystal flavors. If you don't like mentholated snuffs it may just be a specific type that you disagree with. So do your homework people. You may find treasure!

Review for Poschl Packards Club
08-10-2008 06:21PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
Another strong menthol for me. I detect a baritone cherry flavor in it but there doesn't seem to be a base note. With it's one of a kind dispenser system this is a fun product. Good for use outdoors. I snuff directly from the container...a little much. I do like it but don't as much as love it. So there!

Review for Swedish Match Magnet Peach
08-10-2008 06:22PMGrind: CoarseMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
Good peach flavor and nice menthol background but the texture was strange with some type of crystals of a larger dimension that were larger than the grind. Someone said flavor crystals, I thought menthal crystals. Whatever they were I took a mortar to them to smooth the snuff out. I'm still not sure it was the right thing to do.

Review for Swedish Match Taxi Blue
08-10-2008 06:22PMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: High
I love Taxi Blue! It's not just a flavor but an aroma that it sports. Being course, it's easy to snuff, but the tobacco is so soft. When my nose begins to run it runs dark. My wife once asked me if I had a nosebleed. The blow is nice and clean and the aroma remains and is also enjoyed in the lungs. As far as nicotine goes I have decided that there is no need to turn to taxi Red for more. The higher nic of Taxi Red seem to interfere with the flavor factors so it's Taxi Blue for me. This is my morning regular and because I leave it at home I will go strait to it when I get back. I can't wait to try the Taxi Rock too. If it's base is similar to Taxi Blue then it's sure to be a winner!

Review for Swedish Match Taxi Red
08-10-2008 06:23PMGrind: Extra CoarseMoisture: Very MoistNicotine: Huge
FANTASTIC! Moist and juicy. very course. you can use your lungs to pull in the aromatic ammonia. I don't feel it's so necessary though because the Blue Taxi is strong enough and in my opinion more enjoyable. The higher nicotine content in Taxi Red seems to me just a distraction.

Review for De Kralingse Pompadour
08-10-2008 06:23PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
Well balanced. Very stimulating. Outstanding blending combination of flavors. I'll be using this for my cool weather snuff for the warming characteristics of the clove. I can't imagine a poorly made snuff ever coming out from the windmills at DeKraslingse.

Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Aniseed & Eucalyptus
08-15-2008 03:22AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Low
Very strong sweet aniseed flavor. Not enough eucalyptus for my taste but this flavor combo is a good idea. Soft and fluffy it's easy to take and there is no need to avoid hitting the back of your throat because the flavor is great.

Review for Wilsons of Sharrow SM Blue
08-10-2008 06:25PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Low
Strong camphor, not my favorite type of menthol. Medium grind, medium moist. Not sweet at all. Will use for medicinal purposes but MC's O&G is my go to choice.

Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Best SP
8-10-2008 06:25PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
Complex flavors of Rose, Lavender, and citrus. A little cloying in the nose but that's SP for me. Not called SP Best for nothing though. A very enjoyable snuff.

Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Tom Buck
08-15-2008 03:23AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
Item Description Tom Buck (Extra Strong SP) Snuff. We've just had a new shipment of Wilson's Snuff, so as not to make you wait, we haven't yet had the chance to write out a full description of each. If you're familiar with Tom Buck (Extra Strong SP) Snuff, please excuse us. If you'd like to try Tom Buck (Extra Strong SP) Snuff, be our guest. A full description of Tom Buck (Extra Strong SP) Snuff will follow shortly. Haha..this snuff is really good. It seems to have a woody quality to the texture. Great citrus type flavor with a good nic hit to boot. A must try for every aficionado.

Review for Bespoke Stefan's Tripple
08-15-2008 03:25AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
Nice and warm full bodied fragrance. Sandalwood base with fruity citrus notes. A little sticky in the nose though making it longer lasting. It looks like the recipe may have changed. The new description includes hints of menthol and cedar tones. Very creative snuff over here. Don't miss out!

Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Grand Cairo
8-15-2008 03:26AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
Red Rapee! Dark red color, Nice and smooth grind. Exotic cardamom flavor. I don't know if there really is cardamom in it but the flavor is reminiscent. It may just be bergamot. This snuff goes well with a strong cup of coffee. I'll have to see how this stuff smokes in my hookah for the full Arabic experience. Highly recommended snuff!

Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Jasmine
08-15-2008 03:26AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
Nice but the scent is too popular with soaps, perfumes, lotions, etc. I keep my floral snuffs in Oriental style bottles. A good addition to my collection but I don't think I will ever run out of the tiny stock I have.

Comments

  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited November 2009 PM
    Review for Toque Espresso
    08-15-2008 03:27AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    I drink too much coffee and espresso already to be attracted to this flavor. My first try of this was out of a small Toque bullet, then I mixed it with the most excellent Toque Chocolate. Not being a fair judge for this snuff, I will have to get more for a retrial, after all I did use it up in short order. P.S. I have a tin of it now and being a coffee lover I'm exited to say it makes a great pinch. The different Toque flavors bring out different aspects of the base tobacco. Espresso does a good job of rounding out the fresh tobacco taste of Toque. I think now I can skip the idea of putting tobacco in the coffee maker.

    Review for Toque Chocolate
    08-15-2008 03:28AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    A must try! Unless you absolutely hate chocolate, this snuff is sure to please. The tobacco base is excellent. The grind is English style. The Toque snuff are super fresh so they do well in wood snuff boxes which allow them to breathe. Highly recommended! Also great for mixing.

    Review for Toque Natural
    08-15-2008 03:29AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Very mild taste as expected with a natural. Very good quality tobacco. Thank you Toque for making this available. I will be jarring some for aging and using some for homestyle recipes. Still, a good snuff on it's own. Get some today! Free shipping from Toque.

    Review for US Smokeless Tobacco Rooster
    08-15-2008 03:29AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    Powerful extra fine snuff. Strong long lasting smoke flavoring. Reminds me of imitation smoke flavor. I use as a mixer or add a vanilla bean to tone down the initial artificial smell.

    Review for Other / Personal Creations Spanish Jewel
    08-11-2008 07:58AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Huge
    Best snuff ever! Powerful eye watering stuff. It has a great cigar like tobacco flavor. with a delicious sour note in the run. I recommend taking some time out for the experience. Have a seat and enjoy! What makes it an even more fantastic snuff is the method of acquisition from the soon to be legendary craftsman. For those interested search at snuffhouse.org. A reproduction of this great snuff is on short order. Good luck to all that try to attempt. The Dholakia tobacco's are on the right track using only leaves for their snuff. A hit of sparrow gave me this idea. The flavors of Spanish Jewel though elusive have been attributed to malt and honey as far as I understand. Highly recommended! Don't miss out!

    Review for Fribourg & Treyer Santo Domingo
    08-15-2008 03:30AMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: High
    Very dark, medium moist, course fired leaf tobacco with a delicate scent. Between sandalwood, cedar and violet none overpower the other making for an intriguing perfume. I detect a little saltiness also. Very easy to snuff loads due to it's dampness though hard to keep a little from dropping out the nose. Nice nic and very mild tobacco fragrance. I am now compelled to try all of the Fribourg & Treyor recipes.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Crumbs of Comfort
    08-15-2008 03:31AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Fresh spearmint nose in a fine tobacco grind. I wasn't sure I would like spearmint and was concerned that it would be sneezy for me but I was wrong! I love it. My imagination is running wild with the blending potential for this snuff. A very clean scent indeed.

    Review for Poschl Redbull
    08-15-2008 03:43AMGrind: FineMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    Uplifting super menthol. I seems like Ozona President with added menthol and camphor. But I can't tell for sure because it's hard to get past the menthol blast. Definite eucalyptus/menthol combo. It may also have some camphor in it. A big hit will make you cry so be careful. It's less sweet than some of the other Poschls. With the handy container it's in I'll use it or lose it for sure.

    Review for Swedish Match Taxi Rock Spearmint
    08-15-2008 03:37AMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: High
    Nice fresh addition of spearmint to the Taxi line of snuffs. It's great and has the same qualities as the Taxi Blue with a strong spearmint flavor. But the spearmint is just a distraction for me. I enjoy more the unadulterated tobacco experience of the Taxi Blue.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Royal George
    08-15-2008 03:37AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Sweet Amaretto. A favorite flavor of mine but to be used sparingly. All connoisseurs must try. Like a Rubik's cube of flavors this one will take a little time to solve. Outstanding!

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Princes
    08-15-2008 03:38AMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    Geranium is very prominent on the nose of this black moist snuff. Sickly tasting run is easily avoided by using smaller pinches. A nice herbal/floral fragrance to have on hand.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Thyme & Lemon
    08-15-2008 03:39AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Good lemon zest with the legendary herb thyme as the fragrance. Nice combination of flavors. Fine, light brown and medium moist. A superb herbal aperitif. Has a very clean scent. A great way to enjoy thyme as this taste normally gets put in the background of other herbs. Not here! Recommended.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Irish High Toast 22
    08-15-2008 03:40AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
    Another great High Toast. Could easily become a favorite. Pale, fine, dry and light.

    Review for Poschl Alpina
    08-15-2008 03:42AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    O.K. So another subtle variation on the menthol sweets. Another fantastic tricked out dispenser. May be the best container yet. But the snuff misses the mark for pine forest scent by just a hair. A little more pine scent in there would make it a little more distict from the rest of the gang O' menths. Not bad though. I would take any one of the Poschl menthols over no menthols at all. But I do have my favorites. This may be one of them! It's very sweet.

    Review for Toque Raspberry
    8-11-2008 07:22AMGrind: MediumMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
    Real raspberry scent. Not sweet nor sour yet I "feel" those aspects of the raspberry. Very easy to take. Extremely enjoyable. No menthol. No seeds! Great for an all day snuff. This snuff is not without the nuances of the Toque tobacco taste wich works very well with this raspberry essence.

    Review for Toque Blueberry
    08-11-2008 07:52AMGrind: MediumMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
    I'm really liking the fruit flavored snuffs that Toque has to offer. No menthol just an honest fruit scent that is not too strong as to hide the tobacco. These snuffs are not sweet either though it feels as if they are. In fact I'm feeling as if the fruit scents are actually stimulating insulin production. I know the nicotine is. Allright! Blueberry is another snuff that I can have with me and not wish I had brought another flavor along. Kudos to Roderick.

    Review for Toque Cherry
    08-12-2008 07:19PMGrind: MediumMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
    The Cherry scent brings out a grassiness in the tobacco that is not my favorite. However the cherryness keeps me interested pinch after pinch. The fact that I can pick up a tobacco nuance is not such a bad thing. After all, it is tobacco that I want in my nose and this is good tobacco. Easy to take. Not cloying or too sweet. I'm sure after a minimal maturation the grassiness will mellow. I now have a nice little box dedicated to carry my fruit flavored Toque snuffs around with me. Toque on!

    Review for Toque Vanilla
    08-15-2008 04:00AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    A nice cleanly scented snuff. Vanilla and Tobacco and that's it. Not cloying or overly sweet. The scent may remind you of some favorite food treat you may have had. Another great thing the Toque line of scented snuffs have going for them is their design with the intention of mixing them. The combinations are endless. Vanilla is a very important flavor to this end. So on it's own or in a mix you'll be glad you have this one.

    Review for Poschl Gawith Cola
    08-18-2008 07:50AMGrind: FineMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    Yet another sweet menthol from Poschl. The cola flavor is nice but the menthol ruins it for me. I prefer pinching anyway so the containers that these snuffs come in are not a big selling point for me. I do enjoy a menthol in the evenings and if I had some of this I would use it but I don't. I tried some from a friend. I'm not going to buy some. I'd sooner buy the cola syrup digestive medicine I saw in the drug store to flavor my own.

    Review for Toque Toffee
    08-25-2008 07:49PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    A well done sweet toffee scent in the perfect grind of the Toque tobacco. Although the scent is sweet it's not a sugary snuff but cleanly scented like most of the other Toque snuffs. This scent blends very closely with the base tobacco flavors making for a deep singular aroma that's very delicious. It will take some time for me with this snuff to distinguish where the toffee ends and the tobacco begins. Again I must mention the convenience of not wishing I had another snuff on me is an awesome compliment to the quality of the Toque products.

    review for Toque Peppermint
    09-15-2008 08:48AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    The joys of peppermint. When you want a menthol lift without the stuffy inflammation. Try mint! The base tobacco notes get almost completely covered by this scent but I have not thrown it in a box yet. That seems to bring the best out of the Toque. Christmas is around the corner so I should have it in a few mixes by then. It may just be getting another star in that future.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Brunswick
    10-22-2008 10:23PMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    Similar to Wilson's Princes but I like this much better. There is a strong citron flavor in addition to the geranium. Black and moist. Very messy. The long lasting scent stays with and does not blow easily not a bad thing but makes this snuff hard to follow in a sequence. A little cloying but makes a great finisher. Good for an occasional pinch. I think that geranium does not agree with me, the citron I love.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Ice Liquorice
    05-05-2009 03:52AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Very nice! Lowenprise is one of my favorites. I think I could get away with putting this in the same container. This is a little less moist but has the same great licorice flavor that I like. There is always a place in my rotation for a good menthol snuff but there are so many of them. I for one do appreciate the differences. This is now my new favorite.

    Review for De Kralingse Macuba
    10-22-2008 10:48PMGrind: FineMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    Superior snuff! Delicate, lasting, delicious subtle flavor. I love this tobacco base. Sweet Virginia. This flavor is so highly esteemed by me that I used it to make a mix with some of my precious Spanish Jewel. The other Virginia snuffs that Dekraslings has use this as their base as well. Very nice! Very, very nice!

    Review for De Kralingse Prins Regent
    10-22-2008 10:59PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: High
    Yummy, yummy, yummy! The addition of bergamot to the cognac and rose Virginia is a true winner. I love bergamot and the character of the tasty Virginia tobacco is not lost here either. A little finer than most SP snuffs this snuff sits well in the nose. I can hardly get myself to blow. Sometimes I don't. I recommend this snuff be tried by all who enjoy bergamot.
  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited November 2009 PM
    Review for Dholakia Manjul
    10-22-2008 11:13PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
    The lovely scent reminds me of the smell of a carnation. The clove cinnamon mint type flavor is one of my favorites. This snuff is very fluffy and slightly mentholated. I do prefer my menthols to be a little stronger but I don't think this type of grind would allow for that. It's just too fine. A nice snuff to have on hand not having to worry that it will dry out I'll keep it handy in one of my secret boxes for now. The tobacco base for this is pretty good too, like the Sparrow snuff.

    Review for Bernard Brasil Doppelt Fermentiert
    12-04-2008 11:59PMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    Like snuffing brown sugar. Notes of dates. figs, prunes. Nice in the nose. A tasty post nasal drip too. A bit rich for all day use but the aroma stays for quite a while. So far for schmalzlers this is my favorite. I love sweets.

    Review for Bernard Jubiläums Snuff
    12-05-2008 12:14AMGrind: FineMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    Like a fruity schmalzler that is ground fine with added menthol. Less sharp than most menthols and has a fruity body that I really enjoy. Nice and oily as I would expect. I would hope to find a fine grind schmalzler without menthol someday.

    Review for Bernard Klostermischung
    12-05-2008 12:23AMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Klostermischung has a good flavor to it but the gritty coarseness is somewhat distracting. I'm wondering if there is some kind of conditioning trick I could use to take the edges off the grind.

    Review for Bernard Zwiefacher
    12-05-2008 12:28AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    This stuff reminds me of Alpina but with the fruity depth of a schmalzler and a slight smoky note to it. A complex snuff. Very good.

    eview for Bernard Alt Offenbacher Köstlich
    12-05-2008 12:40AMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Not as oily or fruity as the schmalzlers. A little smokey like latakia and that makes it sneezy for me. I really like it though. It has a good tobacco spiciness to it. The aroma is like the oriental salted licorice plum snack that we have here in Hawaii called Li Hing Mui.

    Review for Bernard Brasil Fresco
    12-05-2008 12:44AMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Not bad at all. Deep dark fermented fruit with a touch of sour to it. I think I prefer the Double Fermented over this as it has a sweet note to it and this has a sour one.

    Review for Conwood Company W.E. Garrett Scotch
    12-05-2008 12:56AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    I'm liking this dry Scotch snuff. Not overly smoky like Rooster. Monochromatic in flavor, fine and very dry it makes a good follow up snuff to dry up the nose. There is a definite place in my rotation for these types.

    Review for Conwood Company W.E. Garrett Sweet&Mild
    12-05-2008 01:01AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    I don't really like the burnt sugar smell of the sweet Scotches but this one is not so bad in that respect.

    Review for Swisher Honey Bee
    12-05-2008 01:07AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    Has a tasty sweetness to it. Not too smoky. Very edible. The run is mighty tasty. I'm temted to start dipping with this but that's not my bag.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Honey Menthol
    12-05-2008 01:17AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Wow! Honey Menthol. For the nose. What a treat! I'm really enjoying the strait menthol with the sweet flavors. This one reminds me that I don't have a cold but am taking the medicine anyway.

    Review for Toque Whisky & Honey Toast
    12-05-2008 01:25AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    A sweet toast with a mellow whisky character. The honey sweetness makes it very easy to take and lasts a long time. This is exactly what I wanted in a snuff to mix with those delicious Toque fruit flavors.

    Review for Toque Toast & Marmalade
    12-05-2008 01:33AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    Another toast that is sweet. This one sweet with orange. Seems the same orange that is in the St.Clements. Sweet orange goes well with the dry toast making for a very easy to snuff dry toast. A really good snuff! It seems the scenting in the toast helps with the snuffing as in it goes to where you want it too in the nose. May just be my imagination but it works for me.

    Review for US Smokeless Tobacco Bruton Scotch Snuff
    12-05-2008 01:46AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    Like a not so smoky version of Rooster. The scotches are really starting to grow on me. I think I'll do a mix with a Scotch a Dholakia sparrow a High Dry toast and Toque natural. That should cover a few bases at once.

    Review for Swisher Square
    12-10-2008 02:17AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    Oh yes! A five star Scotch! A must have for everyone. You beginners just take your time. It is worth every minute of it. As a mixer? Fantastic idea! I am now obligated to return from the afterlife to take a snuff of Square! As for the past, my whole life has been a preparation for this magic powder.

    Review for Toque Absinthe
    12-10-2008 02:32AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    A good start for an absinthe anyway. I just drank some at work and I must say I really liked it. I intend to get that bitter wormwood into this snuff myself. One way or another. It's understandable that this product be shipped without the prohibited herb thereby missing. But where there is will there is way. So off to the herb store I go!

    Review for Dholakia Aniseed Menthol
    12-18-2008 11:28PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    I don't get this being an American line snuff. Aniseed is most definitely not an American flavor nor is menthol for snuff. I do like aniseed and licorice. I would like to see a fennel snuff. I love menthol snuffs too. This snuff misses the mark in my opinion. It has too little menthol and too soft an anise. The tobacco however is a winner. It has the exotic signature of Dholakia. Honestly I have yet to decant this snuff so my review will need to be edited once that happens.

    Review for Dholakia She Cherry Menthol
    12-18-2008 11:43PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Sorry but I don't like it. I'm not a she. I don't want to snuff menthol unless it kicks. There seems no point otherwise. The cherry seems unnatural. The only thing going for this snuff is the superior tobacco quality. Honestly I don't think a sexist line of snuff will go to far in this day and age.

    Review for Dholakia Swiss Chocolate
    12-19-2008 12:00AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    I don't know about having so much flavor in a snuff. An accented tobacco is good but this is taking it a little too far. I'm now inspired to forsake tobacco altogether and just sniff ground coco beans. I found this snuff to be cloying and overly flavored.

    Review for US Smokeless Tobacco Carharts
    12-22-2008 01:44AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    This Company makes some strong snuffs! All these are comparable in strength to Rooster. Carharts is mildly sweet Scotch with a smoky character. I guess now I have to put the Red Seal on my do try list. Are there any others from US Smokeless? I think it warrants looking into.

    Review for Swisher Railroad Mills Scotch
    12-22-2008 01:58AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    Plain and boring for a scotch in the nose. Burns a little though. Without some scent interest I find it hard to keep it out of my throat. Seems like it needs some scenting to add interest. A vanilla bean will work here. Thanks to Tom at Nicotine Rush for the sample packs. Without his efforts to split up and share the "Americans" I'd still be high and dry (pun intended).

    Review for Swisher Ralphs
    12-22-2008 02:48AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    Another plain Scotch like Railroad Mills. Except for Square, Swisher's Dry Scotch snuffs have not passed the grade for me. Their sweet snuffs are interesting enough. Of coarse never throw out snuff as recommended by the snuff house community. One never knows how tastes change. As dry as these snuffs are I could hide them somewhere like a car, at work, a tool box, you get the idea. There is nothing like finding hidden treasure.

    Review for Swisher Tops
    12-22-2008 02:26AMGrind: Extra Fine
    Moisture: Very DryNicotine: HighNot bad. Mildly sweet and slightly smokey. Not as good as Carhart's but what do I know. I prefer the U.S. Smokeless snuffs over Swisher's anyway. Happy to have a sample none the less. If I saw a tin full at a garage sale I would buy it.

    Review for Swisher Society
    12-22-2008 02:33AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    Burnt sugar. Like a homemade caramel scent. Tasty but when making caramel one should use low heat as to not burn the sugar. The scent definitely adds interest to the snuff. I don't like it. This one get's thrown to the dippers (not out mind you).

    Review for Swisher Buttercup
    12-22-2008 02:46AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    This would be a winner if the tobacco base that Swisher had was more to my liking. I think that all my Swisher snuffs will get used in mixes except maybe the Honey Bee and Square. Only time will tell.

    Review for Toque Grapefruit
    12-22-2008 03:01AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Nice and mild. More Toque goodness! Although I would have preferred other fruit flavors. Grapefruit is a fine choice as well. The tobacco shines through with this scent just as expected.

    Review for Toque Original
    12-22-2008 03:14AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    And I do like bergamot as well. It is so pleasant to snuff with Toque. Relaxing with the consistency of the grind and strength of all these flavors is very enjoyable. The more I use Toque the more Toque I use. I rebuke all ye that would call themselves snuffers that have not yet tried Toque.

    Review for Toque St. Clements
    12-22-2008 03:22AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Fresh orange! I can't pick out the lemon but I get a hybrid type citrusy orange. I've got way too many favorites of Toque now. I can't see how I'm going to keep up with the prolific Roderick.
  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited November 2009 PM
    Review for Dholakia Ganga
    12-25-2008 06:28PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
    Similar to the Kamal but Ganga is a rose only. Hard to clear strong tampon scented snuff. I like floral snuffs for bedtime. This one sits well and the scent lasts forever. I just followed it with Brunswick, a thick citrus geranium scent. Nice combo. I'm thinking a Scotch Rose mix might be nice. Maybe Rooster/Ganga? The scents from Dholakia are very exotic. Not something that I could handle all day but for an ocasional pinch they provide quite an experience. Thank you Namrata for all the samples.

    Review for Dholakia Chakali (Sparrow) Blue / Cool
    12-25-2008 06:49PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    A cool twist to the Sparrow tobacco. The scent of Sparrow wich is a good cigar scent comes through in the cool. Albeit not cool enough for me. If I'm going to Menthol. Then I want it hard. Not some hint that doesn't make my nose run but swells the glands anyway. But you know I've been spoiled by Poschl and Wilsons. Maybe I'll give the bullet another go around since this stuff is a super fine fluffy dust.

    Review for Dholakia Medicated
    12-25-2008 07:04PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Now I'd call this a menthol snuff! Tasty at that. Mild easy to take super fine ground menthol/tobacco. Simple enough. The English have this beat with eucalyptus and camphor in their medications. Good tobacco here in Dholakia. I sure would like to see a more coarse grind with it.

    Review for Toque Peanut Butter
    12-25-2008 07:17PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    I like the idea of a nut scented tobacco for snuff. This is good but the legume? A little cheesy! Who knows when the mood will strike? I can't even comprehend this scent. I have been avoiding a review due to the inability to give this snuff a fair shot. Maybe I just don't like it or I don't want to like it. It's not bad. I just don't like it.

    Review for Toque Bourbon
    03-11-2009 07:46PMGrind: FineMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    A beautifully flavored Bourbon toast snuff. I could not have done better myself if I tried ( I did try). The flavor based on Elijah Craig 18yr single barrel bourbon is exacting. The base tobacco as a toast couldn't be better. All toast lovers will appreciate what Toque has done with the traditional toast. As it is very dry it's a no fuss snuff that can be taken to the ends of the earth and back. There is no reason not to have a bit of this on hand.

    Review for Toque Christmas Pudding
    03-11-2009 08:08PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Well my first pinch of this one was nice but every pinch thereafter has been a disturbingly sharp clove experience. Hard for me to overcome. I guess I don't like clove in my nose. The other flavors of this snuff are great but the clove is too distracting for me. Too bad, but I won't get rid of it I keep going back to it to see if I can get some of the other flavors that I so adored in my first pinch. The other reviews have described these sufficiently.

    Review for Toque Pomergranate
    03-11-2009 08:19PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Grenadine! What a great scent! I bar tend so I am very familiar to this flavor as it is crucial to several popular drinks. Sharp yet soft. Fruity yet floral. Sweet yet bitter. This is a very complex scent. It reminds me of something in Royal George. I would guess that there is pomegranate in that. I get a very fulfilling aroma from this Toque Pomegranate. Reminiscent of talcum. Good snuff.

    Review for Toque Quit
    03-11-2009 08:47PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: High
    Similar tobacco scents as Toque Natural with a more fine grind. This stuff is invaluable. I can see a whole line of flavored Toque Quit challenging the status of English (medium) grind snuffs. This is the snuff I am using in my Spanish Jewel snuff solera to extend my remnants of the rare snuff. Only time will tell, but I'm pretty sure I did the right thing. A word to those trying to quit smoking and using snuff for the first time. The answer to your FAQ "I'm I doing it right?" is yes. There is no wrong way! You will learn soon enough to be comfortable with it. Toque Quit = a good choice.

    Review for Toque toque champagne
    03-11-2009 08:59PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    They must have used real champagne to make this snuff. The classic Toque tobacco with a nice heady aroma of spirits. I would love to add a little grenadine scent to this but it is sooo good on it's own merits. The capture of the fermented grape here is astounding. It's time we start handing out awards to some snuff makers.

    Review for Fribourg & Treyer Kendal Brown
    04-15-2009 02:31AMGrind: FineMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    My first Kendall Brown. I like the Zimbabwe tobacco that the F&T line has. I'm glad that geranium does not dominate this scent. I can hardly tell it's there. A very nice violet, mayflower combo. I'm glad for the fine grind as it makes for a very light floral snuff with a heavy brown tobacco.

    Review for Fribourg & Treyer Princes
    04-15-2009 02:53AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    Full bodied heavy black Zimbabwe with a lasting geranium dominating floral scent. A nice amount of lemon balances this all out very well. The geranium is one scent I crave from time to time so having a tube of F&T around is a must for me now. There are still a few more availible F&T's I need to complete my collection. I understand a few of them have geranium in them. Lucky me!

    Review for Conwood Company Levi Garret
    04-23-2009 03:40AMGrind: FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    Having a glass jar full of old snuff is quite a thrill. I can only imagine the feelings of someone who buys in bulk could be similar. The best thing is that this snuff is good. Not a beginners snuff for sure. I've grown some hair on my chest since I've had it. Pure tobacco joy it is. It gets in your hair, your eyes, though your sinuses into your ears, and usually in your lungs. I don't mind choking a bit, as long as my nose gets coated. It's worth it.

    Review for Fribourg & Treyer French Carotte
    04-23-2009 04:01AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    After spending time with Seville I sense that neroli oil might be in this one too. It's a little distracting for me but I'm happy with this snuff none the less. A wonderful perfume floating on a warm sandalwood base. Most definitely not Seville, and having slightly different tobacco's in it, French Carotte is very interesting indeed. As long as they keep using the F&T recipes, I'll keep using the F&T snuffs.

    Review for Bernard Feinster Kownoer
    07-16-2009 07:37PM
    Grind: Coarse
    Moisture: Moist
    Nicotine: High
    FEINSTER KOWNOER... This stuff has a burn to it. My first hint of scent was disgusting. I felt as if my mind was searching to place the scent but simply tossed it in the junk box as if there was no where else to put it. A very good nic hit ensued. A while later, whilst picking at my nose, tobacco, glorious tobacco! Reminded me of Taxi. I thought to myself, that's somewhat of an indirect way of getting the scent I love so much. This snuff absolutely warrants further attempts. Go ahead and put this one on the natural tobacco snuff list. (may gain stars with further use)...I just gave it another star! ...edit...It's on my favorites list now. Good strong tobacco.

    Review for Bernard Aecht Altbayrischer Schmalzler
    05-04-2009 03:27AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    An immediate hit with me. This is exactly what I expected a schmalzler to be. Long lasting headiness, deep sweet fruit, and deliciously aromatic. The all black with gold lettering box is nice too. I can guarantee I'll get caught looking as if I have a nosebleed while I try to delay the blowing out of this gorgeous treat.

    Review for Swisher Wild Cherry
    05-05-2009 02:43AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: High
    The wild cherry flavor does a good job of covering up the annoying sweetener. It has a little hint of sour to it that is nice too. This is the only sweet American that I sort of like. I do prefer the plain scotches. I have found that these work very well to quell the swell that menthol gives to the sinuses.

    Review for Swisher Railroad Mills Macoboy
    05-05-2009 03:09AMGrind: FineMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    Interesting product coming from Swisher. The scent comes off as just something floral. Rose is hidden by the stronger fermented tobacco scents. Sort of like a Kendal brown type of snuff. It's funny, I keep waiting for the violet to come out. The Rose does though, every now and then. Macoboy blows out cleaner than the KB's that I have tried. Seems this may be better dried out a little. I'll have to put that on the to do list. The bottle works well with a spoon but impossible to pinch from.

    Review for De Kralingse Hollandse Bolongaro
    05-05-2009 03:46AMGrind: Extra CoarseMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    Coarse and dry. Light brown with lighter specks in color. Very light by volume. Soft and easy to take large doses with full breathing. Very delicately complex slight grassy light choco scent and little burn. Not sneezy at all. Immediate heavy nose run with no coloring of mucus. Does not blow out well at the same time it is not cloying and sits well with a good spicy feel and mild aroma. No bitter drip. All around mild snuff except for volume and long lasting nicotine. Recommended for experienced snuffers looking for a plain yet complex tobacco snuff.
  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited November 2009 PM
    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Strasbourg
    05-07-2009 02:06AMGrind: MediumMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
    Bergamot, sandalwood, rose, lavender. That is what I get. Very similar to the Best SP except for the sandalwood and the grind is more like like Tom Buck's. Strasbourg has a lemony freshness going in. I'm guessing that's the citron. The balanced scent is long lived and quite uplifting. If you like SP snuff and don't mind the mild floral hint then you really need to find out how well sandalwood counterbalances bergamot in a snuff.

    eview for Samuel Gawith Kendel Brown
    05-07-2009 02:34AMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    This is my first Samual Gawith review. So I don't know whether or not some of the smells in this are inherent in the tobacco used. Otherwise this one is quite strong and full bodied. Very strong citrus type scent. Not bergamot, but somewhat floral. If it is geranium then it is unlike any of the geranium scents that I have smelled. The scent settles quickly and the dark moist tobacco is not cloying and blows out relatively easily. The new tap out box is a little messy but this snuff is not sticky and cleans up just fine. Now having caught my eye, I am faced with another line of snuffs to try. Please note that I do rely on your comments to guide me.

    Review for Swisher Three Thistle
    05-07-2009 02:52AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    The strength of Rooster without the over done smokiness. Mind you, smokiness is not toastiness. There does seem to be some mildly sweet floral scent but this is most definitely not a "sweet". Comparing to other dry scotches I would say that unless you are already a fan of the type, it is not different enough to turn your favor. If you are a fan, this is one good snuff and a must have. Strong yet mild.

    Review for Conwood Company W.E. Garrett Scotch
    05-07-2009 03:00AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Very DryNicotine: High
    I have the Levi Garrett so I don't feel a need to try this. If it's not the same then my Levi is better and that is that. Ha ha this is my one hundredth review and I don't even have the snuff for it.

    Review for Toque Coke
    05-18-2009 03:28AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Classic cola flavor. Not overdone or ruined by menthol. The same quality tobacco from Toque. The cola covers the sting and grassy notes of the tobacco nicely. I like the Toque Flavors for all day snuffs. They never tire and always satisfy. The gutsy use of the trade name is also very cool. Get it just for the tin as who knows how long the label will stand till corrected.

    Review for Toque Lavender
    05-18-2009 03:42AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Wow, this is lavender alright! With no other scents to distract. This snuff is not soapy as some florals can be. It's more of an herbal lavender (good choice Roderick). However, it is strongly scented and stays a good while. Recommended for the nose in training and for personal mix creations. Also the aromatherapy value is very high.

    Review for Toque Rose
    05-18-2009 04:00AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Unbelievable! A nice sharp entry like the Pomegranate has, but this Rose is much more of an enveloping scent. I always have to stop and wait for the sensory overload to subside. Nice lingering, clear rose, no mistaking the scent. This has become an immediate favorite for me.

    Review for Toque Violet
    05-18-2009 04:14AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    The ratings for the "Toque florals" are biased by my attraction to Rose. However, Lavender and Violet are also both esteemed scents. Gladly, having the scents by themselves helps distinguish them from one another. A strong scent that is overused in perfumery, violet reaches the depths of my memories. Now I can pinpoint a violet scent in other snuffs that I have. I use floral snuffs for dream catching and so this Violet is invaluable to me.

    Review for Toque Spanish Gem
    05-20-2009 03:20AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: High
    For me this is simply honey flavored Toque Quit. The scent definitely makes it easier to take more lustfully. Nice, sweet honey that clears cleanly with no lingering or cloying. Otherwise very plain like Toque Quit. Sadly, this snuff is nothing like the Spanish Jewel that it is named in tribute of.

    Review for US Smokeless Tobacco Standard
    05-20-2009 05:38PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    A full bodied Scotch without the BBQ distraction. Very flavorful, nice and strong aroma. This snuff officially makes me a Scotch lover. Smooth, I say, much smoother than the Brutons sharp hit. Tasty too. I haven't once spit, but always swallow the mild tasting drip. US Smokeless has some good tobacco!

    Review for De Kralingse Choco Creme Snuff
    05-20-2009 05:58PMGrind: CoarseMoisture: DryNicotine: Medium
    Nice creamy Swiss chocolate scent. The coarse grind makes snuffing big lines easy. The spicy Virginia tobacco rears up enough for a good feel in the nose. The drip a little bitter as with most snuffs, but not distracting as the scent lingers strongly. Lovers of Dholakia's Swiss Chocolate will appreciate this less cloying Molens De Kralingse version. I believe there is also the Chococreme L. available wich is made with Latakia instead of Virginia tobacco. Must try, must try!

    Review for Jaxons Cherry Menthol
    05-20-2009 09:10PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Received as a free sample from SnuffStore. Not really my cup of tea. I like more powerful menthols. Not bad though. Bright cherry with a splash of menthol. If I didn't have so much snuffs to chose from I would be perfectly happy with this one and if it were sold at the store on the corner, I WOULD buy it, because I am a snuff addict.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Tangerine
    05-20-2009 06:49PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Sickly sweet dull rotting orange juice flavor. Super sneezy for me. I can't get to the tobacco in this one. I personally must have an aversion to the scenting. I will keep trying but I think this snuff may just get lost in some dark corner of my universe. The funny thing is that when I'm old and grey rummaging through the junk of times gone by. This will be the relic I stumble upon to remind me of my copious collection of the past. How ironic will that be?

    Review for Swisher Starr Scotch Snuff
    05-20-2009 08:51PMGrind: FineMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    Very mild and plain clean unflavored tobacco. Not outstanding compared to other smokey Scotch snuffs. That is a good thing and would make this a nice introductory snuff for the novice looking to try the Scotch styles. The nicotine is still there mind you, just not in the sharp BBQ fashion that can overpower the senses at times. The more experienced snuffer might prefer something a little more full bodied like Swisher's Square, wich is one of my personal favorites. This snuff is of course definitely worth the few hundred pennies it takes to acquire.

    Review for Conwood Company Peach Sweet
    05-20-2009 09:09PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    Not as peachy as one would hope. The scent blends well with the sweetener as to make for a decent American sweet. Sweet Scotch snuff is not my favorite style but has grown on me since I have tried some of the flavored sweets. Thanks again to Nicotinerush for the free sample (and smashbox).

    Review for Other / Personal Creations Montecristo
    07-11-2009 02:57AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    The cigar from Cuba. A friend gave me one that was dried out so instead of painstakingly re-hydrating it I simply ground it up. I prefer snuffing tobacco now anyway. I have found cigar and pipe tobacco to be a bit cloying in the nose but the scent of fermented tobacco is quite nice and carries over for nasal use very well. I'll have to work on this one, maybe some toasting and /or re-hydrating then eventually maybe some flavoring. We shall see... for now only three stars. Update- I mixed it in with some other plain snuffs for aging. In conclusion I would not recommend cigar tobacco for snuffgrinding. While the scent is good, it is not great due to the nose feel.

    Review for Other / Personal Creations Stitch's Thai Brandied
    05-31-2009 02:54AMGrind: MediumMoisture: DryNicotine: High
    My first impression was that this was a chili pepper scented snuff. I think that comes from the tequila in combination with the very strong rope tobacco used. Now I am curious as to what a chili scented snuff would be like. I know there is a horseradish ginger snuff out there. Good job Dan, you're an inspiration for the home grinder.

    Review for Poschl Gletscherprise
    11-04-2009 09:16PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Nice menthol-pine scent, a little on the sweet side. This snuff is similar to most of the other Poschls I have tried. I like Poschl snuffs but won't use them more than once or twice a day. This will do just fine. I hope the tobacco sours like some of my other "older" Poschls have. That would make this even better.

    Review for Samuel Gawith Apple
    11-04-2009 09:34PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: Medium
    Fine, brown easy to snuff with a pleasant sweet apple scent. Lots of Sam G. tobacco notes in there as well. It smells like pipe tobacco in a good way, with a very full bodied aroma. I'm inspired to try other Samuel Gawith snuffs now more than ever.

    Review for Samuel Gawith Black Rappee
    11-04-2009 09:52PMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: Medium
    Samuel Gawith has some strong tobacco scents in their snuffs. Black Rappee is just that. A strong latakia (pine smoked) tobacco scent. If you like English style pipe blends you might like this one or at least find the scent very familiar.
  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited December 2009 PM
    Review for Bernard Amostrinha
    Juxtaposer 2009-12-09 21:49:48
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Moist Nicotine: Medium
    I was not liking this at first finding that Zwiefacher was so much better. Camphor and no sweet pine scent here. There is a subtle smokiness upon sniffing and a deeper mentholated schmalzler scent." Take this excellent tobacco for the nose only." Is what it says on the dispenser. Would be four stars but it's not to my fancy.

    Review for Toque Apricot
    Juxtaposer 12-09-2009 10:18PM
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Dry Nicotine: Medium
    A little shocking is the inclusion of the apricot pit scent. It is taking me a little time to get used to it. I went as far as to google cyanide. I was expecting sweet sour fruity. Not earthy robust fresh wood with rounded fruit notes. very interesting to say the least. I have some in a box that allows for airing. I have not been able to stay away from it for very long. This apricot reminds me of what sandalwood is like in a snuff.

    Review for Toque Berwick Brown
    Juxtaposer 12-09-2009 10:32PM
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    Perfect scent! Plenty of delicious citrus and a well balanced floral arrangement. And that "brown" tobacco note is highlighted in all it's glory. But those flecks are killing me. This snuff has been sneezy for me from the start. I worry I might pop an eye out or something.

    Review for Toque Peach
    Juxtaposer 12-09-2009 11:11PM
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    I never liked the Magnet Peach so I was a little hesitant but this is good. The scent goes well with the tobacco letting the now relished grassy note through. Big potential as a mixer. The first thing that comes to mind is Southern Comfort. Next is Peach Champagne. A Peach SP would be nice. Let's see...

    Review for Toque SP Extra
    Juxtaposer 12-09-2009 11:20PM
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    This is the first SP I picked orange out of. Very delightful. Tons of scent. Nice soft tobacco. Very easy to snuff. Works well as an anti-deppressant. No, really!

    Review for Toque Lime Toast
    Juxtaposer 12-09-2009 11:27PM
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Dry Nicotine: Medium
    Bold lime scent that settles into a toasty tobacco. The scent is good and I would like to see it in a natural mix. It's a little odd in a toast. Though it provides a powerful counter balance. I'm really not sure what to make of it.

    Review for Other / Personal Creations Snuff Store - Licorice
    Juxtaposer 12-09-2009 11:41PM
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    Strait flue cured tobacco with licorice powder added, That's what it is like. Good tobacco, and I like licorice powder but there is something missing here. It's almost as if some pressing and steaming needs to be done to interject the licorice or something. Or it may be that I am spoiled by all the other so called "licorice" that have anise or other modifiers. I'm thinking that real licorice might be better served by a lighter choice of tobacco.
  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited April 2010 PM
    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Sunset 2010-01-03 20:09:52
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Medium Nicotine: None
    This review is for the Tiger snuff mad by Bernards. After sampling a non-tobacco snuff I conclude these are dramatically not as pleasant as insufflating tobacco. A waste of nasal space although quite a novelty. The guarana would be better served in a drink I'd say.

    Review for Bernard Feiner Offenbacher Cardinal 2010-01-03 19:51:55
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    Good stuff! Nice smoky plum like scent very complex and enjoyable, Kostlich light is right. I think pinching instead of pouring to the hand also makes a difference. A good balance of sweet, smokey, light latakia, dried apricot and prune. Moist and easy to take.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Lemon Grove
    03-31-2010 01:54AM
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    A nice refreshing lemon scented snuff made in the tone of the classic wilson tobacco. Very uplifting, bright, and sharp. Another alternative to bergamot for a nice SP like snuff.

    Review for Ludwig Sternecker Echt Fresko
    04-27-2010 09:56PM
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Moist Nicotine: High
    A Real tobacco snuff! The Echt Fresko has an additional slight sweetness, compared to the plain walnut, tannin, tobacco goodness of the Straubinger. Easy to snuff nice and soft on the nose. What a great nose feel as it sits lasting quite some time with it's mild aroma. Very clean and not cloying at all. Must try at least one of the Sterneckers or you won't know what you are missing. Not the same as Bernards or Poschl by far.

    Review for Ludwig Sternecker Straubinger Schmalzler
    03-31-2010 02:11AM
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Moist Nicotine: High
    A Real tobacco snuff! Walnut, tannin, tobacco scents. Easy to snuff nice and soft on the nose. What a great nose feel as it sits lasting quite some time with it's mild aroma. Very clean and not cloying at all. Must try at least one of the Sterneckers or you won't know what you are missing. Not the same as Bernards or Poschl by far.

    Review for Dholakia White Snuff
    04-27-2010 07:13PM
    Grind: Extra Fine Moisture: Dry Nicotine: High
    More of a novelty snuff in my opinion. It is too fine for practical use out and about. Slightly cloying and does not have enough clearing effect to make a good intermezzo. The scent is an unrewarding and short lived dried shrimp that is hardly possible to get to the proper senses without going too far. The feeling of burning, harming while it sits is great enough for me to not use this often. The nicotine is there making for an immediate lift. Not a snuff to share with beginners, Dholakia White would make a fun pass around indoors with a group of more experienced snuffers or for youngsters to snort so that their friends can witness them going into shock. Interesting enough for any nasal snuff user to try.

    Review for Rockit! Naked
    04-27-2010 07:27PM
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Dry Nicotine: Medium
    Easy enough to take. Very mild and rather boring. Has enough of a lift to sustain. A clean unassuming snuff. I suppose if I tried more of it I could come up with other characteristics but there are so many other more interesting products to use that that may never happen. This may be a little unfair of a review really. I'll try to revisit someday.

    Review for Dholakia Temptation Grape Concord
    04-27-2010 07:44PM
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    Great grape scent! Otherwise a boring tobacco product. When I go for a snuff it is usually the tobacco satisfaction that I seek. Even with such a fantastic scent I do not find myself wanting more of this in my nose. It may be that one day I will pair it with a food or drink product for an "experience", but I don't see this making it into a snuff box of mine. Younger individuals who may be giving flavors more priority will definitely enjoy this more or maybe the "eww" girls who think snuff is disgusting. hehe!

    Review for Bernard Civette Extrafein
    04-27-2010 08:01PM
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Moist Nicotine: Medium
    Very good stuff! A full bodied schmalzler like tobacco blend. Complex, slightly sweet and smokey. Very soft. Not at all cloying. Just delicious. Elegant I'd say. Highly recommended to all snuff connoisseurs.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Best Dark
    04-27-2010 08:24PM
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Moist Nicotine: High
    Beautiful dark tobacco. Soft and moist with a light bergamot scent. The popular scent does not stand out as with lighter tobacco but balances the dark moist blend very nicely. Unique among SP snuff due to it's dark nature, a must try for SP lovers. I think that a smokey component to this snuff would be what is missing here, not that the Best Dark is lacking.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Camphor & Mild
    04-27-2010 08:37PM
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    A good change of pace for lovers of menthol. With a somewhat sharp tobacco base (stems) the hit is very rewarding. Clearly camphor with a hint of bergamot. This does cause my sinuses to swell a little, the camphor does. The contrast between the deep camphor note and the light tobacco base makes for a well rounded snuff I'd say.

    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Burgundy
    04-27-2010 08:56PM
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Moist Nicotine: Medium
    A complexly scented snuff this is. Geranium, rose. citrus, to name a few in a pleasant sandalwood base. Sandalwood however pleasant does get a bit cloying. Not so bad in this tobacco as it holds the scent very nicely for some time. The WOS Burgundy can compete with the F&T's in the perfume department, though it lacks in that competition in the tobacco base area.

    Review for Samuel Gawith Blue Crest
    04-27-2010 09:07PM
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    Nice grassy tobacco with a hint of nuttiness. there seems to be a sort of tonka like scent in this also. A very pleasant snuff. Different enough to hold interest. May end up in a box one day but for now the tap out works well enough for this stuff.

    Review for Samuel Gawith London Brown
    04-27-2010 09:26PM
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Moist Nicotine: Medium
    After rehydrating outside the tap box I have discovered this snuff to be quite pleasant. A full bodied tobacco scent. Sits well in the nose providing lasting pleasure. Very dark I'd say to be calling it a brown. This tobacco has slightly similar characteristics of the Black Rappee upon the initial sniff. It quickly mellows to a warm McCombie like base with hints of smokey Black Rappee. Good stuff...this is what I have in mind when I think about what plain snuff should be like.

    Review for Samuel Gawith McCombie
    04-27-2010 09:32PM
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Moist Nicotine: Medium
    A great plain snuff. Lots of body and smells of good mild tobacco. I had to rehydrate from the tap box so I am a little curious as to how much better this stuff would be fresh. As of now I'd say it is a little too mild to hold interest, but snuffing upon a clean palate this stuff is very good. Glad to have it. Samuel Gawith makes REAL snuff.

    Review for Samuel Gawith Scotch Black
    04-27-2010 09:46PM
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Moist Nicotine: Medium
    Excellent blend! A little more complex than the London Brown. This may be my top choice in their plain category. It's between this and the London Brown. Again I am rehydrating from the tap box so I do not know what intricacies are missing. As a tobacco I would guess this is a mix of the Black Rappee and McCombie, of course that would be putting it simply. After a little more study I will go for a bulk buy for sure. These and some of the KB's.

    Review for Ludwig Sternecker Fresko
    04-27-2010 10:04PM
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Moist Nicotine: High
    The slightly smokey one of the three Sternecker's. Well done I say! These schmalzlers are very clean blowing with lot's of nicotine and delicious tobacco scents. All are plainish not sweet compared to the Poschl and Bernard schmalzlers, a good thing in my opinion, making these outstanding in their field.
    Review for Other / Personal Creations 5Photo Himalaya Snuff 2010-01-03 19:01:01
    Grind: Extra Fine Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    This is what purple must smell like. That hippie girl dressed in purple smells like this too. Incense like fragrance works well in the nose and is very cooling to the mind. Namaste. Chitawo ananda meeta ji deo darshan mera sataguru!

    Review for Other / Personal Creations Snuff Store - Licorice 2010-01-03 18:50:46
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    Smells of good flue cured leaf and fresh ground licorice root. Leathery with sweet woody hints. But the tobacco and the licorice do not seem to mingle. It seems neither influences the other. They are still both there, but separate. Of course I have been spoiled by the Blenders Bundle snuff so I will have to take a less influenced look if that's possible.

    Review for Other / Personal Creations Snuff Store - Blender's Bundle 2010-01-03 18:38:47
    Grind: Fine Moisture: Medium Nicotine: Medium
    My best guess is good flue cured tobacco with a simple brewers yeast scent. Yet this snuff hardly boring. The complexity of the tobacco/yeast combination is multiplied by the body this snuff possesses. Very round and full like this is more than just a scented tobacco. The thought that using this as a base to carry a favorite scent crosses my mind but there really is no reason to change this. Very enjoyable.

    Review for Bernard Gekachelte Virginie 2010-01-03 17:57:44
    Grind: Medium Moisture: Medium
    This will suit fine as a milder version of the Feiner Kownoer. I would go as far as to guess that this is one of the tobaccos used in that blend. A good natural tobacco snuff here.

    Review for Poschl Schmalzler A 2010-01-03 17:51:15
    Grind: Coarse Moisture: Moist Nicotine: Medium
    I'm very happy to have a bag of this very subtle well rounded snuff. The scent reminds me of the Klostermischung that Bernard has. Slight rum headiness. With hints of the fruitiness that Doppelaroma carries. The mildness of sweet brings out the tobacco scents rather than covering of overpowering them here. The grind is nothing like that sharp gravelly stuff the smirky monk is shoveling. Easy to snuff all around winner here.
  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited December 2011 PM
    Review for Ketu Ram Bishambar Das (5 Photo) Himalaya SnuffGrind: Extra FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumThis is what purple must smell like. That hippie girl dressed in purple smells like this too. Incense like fragrance works well in the nose and is very cooling to the mind. Namaste. Chitawo ananda meeta ji deo darshan mera sataguru! 
    Review for Gawith Hoggarth Dry Orange02-27-2010 03:46AMGrind: MediumMoisture: Very DryNicotine: MediumDry but not fine. Slightly sweet. Slightly floral. Stings good. This is the first Gawith Hoggarth snuff I have tried. Given as a sample with a friends order. Good of him to share. So far none of these snuffs have made my "to try" list. This sample doesn't seem to change that. It is a little soon to say but so far I'm not impressed. Not bad though. 
    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Apricot02-27-2010 04:03AMGrind: MediumMoisture: DryNicotine: MediumWell... This was given to me from a friend, He ordered a few too much. But wait! This is good. It hits a very high note with the Wilsons tobacco taking the lead. With just hints of apricot it feels like an SP snuff. Would make a great alternative for those with orange allergies. Then again what have I been missing with all these Wilsons flavors I have never tried. Thumbs up again for Wilsons of Sharrow. This one will add quite a few others onto my " to try" list.
    Review for Dholakia White Snuff03-20-2010 03:29AMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: DryNicotine: HighThis extra fine powder will go where not intended for certain. Not a problem for more experienced snuffers. It does sting a little, must be some special salts in it or something. The scent is good but mild and doesn't last long due to the fineness. The nicotine rush is good too but it's a quick spike with a sharp drop off so you might want to have a more substantial snuff handy too for before or after this one. The smell reminds me of the South African Gwayi snuffs like Taxi although the Taxi is much longer lasting, in nicotine too. This would be a good one to give a wanna be, poser who is not quite ready for the true path. Kudos to those that use this as their all day snuff as that can't be easy. Recommended for those quitting smoking as the nic spike is fitting but you MUST know how to snuff FIRST or this will choke you out. Good to have in the arsenal! 
    Review for F.U.B.A.R. Grunt03-20-2010 03:52AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumMy first snuff from the F,U,B,A,R line. Well done I'd say. Contracted from Dholakia this snuff is the Sparrow Green for sure. It seems a little coconut oil has been mixed in, making it MUCH easier to snuff. Same great tobacco scents with less of the burn, more nicotine due to the ease of loading. Very pleasant with the coconut. Don't plan on storing this for more than five years or so because although coconut oil is VERY stable it can turn rancid, if that is what is truly used here. This snuff has little burn so an indicator of rancidity would be the extra burn factor that would develop after five years or so. Do not let these facts on coconut oil stop you from getting some of this as I am just assuming that that is what is in this fantastic snuff. Who keeps snuff around for more than five years anyway? Well...I do recommend the sparrow green for aging if that is part of your snuffing hobby. A must try for anyone who likes Sparrow snuff.
    Review for Hedges L260 'The Snuff'03-20-2010 04:02AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumI had to try it being the only snuff that they make under that label. Not bad at all. A very clean snuff with a nice reddish color to it. The tin opens easily for a quick pinch. Any menthol lover must have this for sure. A little boring I'd say but that's what makes it clean. This is what I would use to mentholate an SP if I was in the mood. Classic is what makes this snuff special. Also L260 goes well with C420! 
    Review for De Kralingse Bon Bon04-30-2010 06:43AMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: HighHollandse Bolongaro is one of my favorite snuffs. This Bon Bon is quite similar if not the same tobacco with the delightful trio of the scents tonquin, amber, and vanilla. The Virginia tobacco is a sweet for me as it is. Touche! This recipe makes nose candy. The resulting scent is a bit fruity almost strawberry like. Easily could get five stars but I prefer cow dung smelling snuffs myself. 
    Review for Dholakia Swiss Chocolate03-31-2010 01:47AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: HighThis review is for Dholakia Limited Chocolate. It has the same swiss chocolate scent but the grind is not as fine and there is that FUBAR grunt coconut scent in it. Good stuff this is. Chocolate Grunt! A friend of mine bought a giant container of it and gave me a bit. I suppose that it's not really available otherwise as it was a limited edition. 
    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Lemon Grove03-31-2010 01:54AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumA nice refreshing lemon scented snuff made in the tone of the classic wilson tobacco. Very uplifting, bright, and sharp. Another alternative to bergamot for a nice SP like snuff. 
    Review for Ludwig Sternecker Echt Fresko04-27-2010 09:56PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: HighA Real tobacco snuff! The Echt Fresko has an additional slight sweetness, compared to the plain walnut, tannin, tobacco goodness of the Straubinger. Easy to snuff nice and soft on the nose. What a great nose feel as it sits lasting quite some time with it's mild aroma. Very clean and not cloying at all. Must try at least one of the Sterneckers or you won't know what you are missing. Not the same as Bernards or Poschl by far.
    Review for Ludwig Sternecker Straubinger Schmalzler03-31-2010 02:11AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: HighA Real tobacco snuff! Walnut, tannin, tobacco scents. Easy to snuff nice and soft on the nose. What a great nose feel as it sits lasting quite some time with it's mild aroma. Very clean and not cloying at all. Must try at least one of the Sterneckers or you won't know what you are missing. Not the same as Bernards or Poschl by far.
    Review for Dholakia White Snuff04-27-2010 07:13PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: Drynicotine: HighMore of a novelty snuff in my opinion. It is too fine for practical use out and about. Slightly cloying and does not have enough clearing effect to make a good intermezzo. The scent is an unrewarding and short lived dried shrimp that is hardly possible to get to the proper senses without going too far. The feeling of burning, harming while it sits is great enough for me to not use this often. The nicotine is there making for an immediate lift. Not a snuff to share with beginners, Dholakia White would make a fun pass around indoors with a group of more experienced snuffers or for youngsters to snort so that their friends can witness them going into shock. Interesting enough for any nasal snuff user to try.
    Review for Rockit! Naked04-27-2010 07:27PMGrind: FineMoisture: DryNicotine: MediumEasy enough to take. Very mild and rather boring. Has enough of a lift to sustain. A clean unassuming snuff. I suppose if I tried more of it I could come up with other characteristics but there are so many other more interesting products to use that that may never happen. This may be a little unfair of a review really. I'll try to revisit someday.
    Review for Dholakia Temptation Grape Concord04-27-2010 07:44PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumGreat grape scent! Otherwise a boring tobacco product. When I go for a snuff it is usually the tobacco satisfaction that I seek. Even with such a fantastic scent I do not find myself wanting more of this in my nose. It may be that one day I will pair it with a food or drink product for an "experience", but I don't see this making it into a snuff box of mine. Younger individuals who may be giving flavors more priority will definitely enjoy this more or maybe the "eww" girls who think snuff is disgusting. hehe! 
    Review for Bernard Civette Extrafein04-27-2010 08:01PMGrind: FineMoisture: MoistNicotine: MediumVery good stuff! A full bodied schmalzler like tobacco blend. Complex, slightly sweet and smokey. Very soft. Not at all cloying. Just delicious. Elegant I'd say. Highly recommended to all snuff connoisseurs.
    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Best Dark04-27-2010 08:24PMGrind: FineMoisture: MoistNicotine: HighBeautiful dark tobacco. Soft and moist with a light bergamot scent. The popular scent does not stand out as with lighter tobacco but balances the dark moist blend very nicely. Unique among SP snuff due to it's dark nature, a must try for SP lovers. I think that a smokey component to this snuff would be what is missing here, not that the Best Dark is lacking.Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Camphor & MildJuxtaposer04-27-2010 08:37PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumA good change of pace for lovers of menthol. With a somewhat sharp tobacco base (stems) the hit is very rewarding. Clearly camphor with a hint of bergamot. This does cause my sinuses to swell a little, the camphor does. The contrast between the deep camphor note and the light tobacco base makes for a well rounded snuff I'd say. 
    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Burgundy06-02-2010 04:07AMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MoistNicotine: MediumA complexly scented snuff this is. Citron spice. lemony sharp scents expertly perfumed with subtle floral scents. Geranium I can pick out but it is not as strong as is in Princes or Brunswick. Other scents lurk as well possibly neroli. While the scent does linger it never wears out it's welcome. The tobacco is the same brown and grind as Tom Buck but it never has a chance to come to the forefront as an simple SP snuff would let. Very easy to snuff large pinches. This snuff is not at all cloying as I first thought. Well suited for all day use. I suppose I should test that first. For now it gets four stars.
    Review for Samuel Gawith Blue Crest04-27-2010 09:07PMGrind: MediumMoisture: Mediumnicotine: MediumNice grassy tobacco with a hint of nuttiness. there seems to be a sort of tonka like scent in this also. A very pleasant snuff. Different enough to hold interest. May end up in a box one day but for now the tap out works well enough for this stuff.
    Review for Samuel Gawith London Brown04-27-2010 09:26PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: MediumAfter rehydrating outside the tap box I have discovered this snuff to be quite pleasant. A full bodied tobacco scent. Sits well in the nose providing lasting pleasure. Very dark I'd say to be calling it a brown. This tobacco has slightly similar characteristics of the Black Rappee upon the initial sniff. It quickly mellows to a warm McCombie like base with hints of smokey Black Rappee. Good stuff...this is what I have in mind when I think about what plain snuff should be like.
    Review for Samuel Gawith McCombie04-27-2010 09:32PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: MediumA great plain snuff. Lots of body and smells of good mild tobacco. I had to rehydrate from the tap box so I am a little curious as to how much better this stuff would be fresh. As of now I'd say it is a little too mild to hold interest, but snuffing upon a clean palate this stuff is very good. Glad to have it. Samuel Gawith makes REAL snuff.
    Review for Samuel Gawith Scotch Black04-27-2010 09:46PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: MediumExcellent blend! A little more complex than the London Brown. This may be my top choice in their plain category. It's between this and the London Brown. Again I am rehydrating from the tap box so I do not know what intricacies are missing. As a tobacco I would guess this is a mix of the Black Rappee and McCombie, of course that would be putting it simply. After a little more study I will go for a bulk buy for sure. These and some of the KB's.
    Review for Ludwig Sternecker Fresko04-27-2010 10:04PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: HighThe slightly smokey one of the three Sternecker's. Well done I say! These schmalzlers are very clean blowing with lot's of nicotine and delicious tobacco scents. All are plainish not sweet compared to the Poschl and Bernard schmalzlers, a good thing in my opinion, making these outstanding in their field.
    Review for Samuel Gawith Special M04-28-2010 01:32AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumNice sweet tobacco with hint towards an almond flavor. this snuff reminds me a lot of the Samuel Gawith Apple snuff without the apple flavor of course. Pleasant enough using it out of the tap box. I was hoping for more of a substantial almond note but it's fine as it is. 
    Review for Samuel Gawith Red Crest04-28-2010 01:43AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumCertainly a distinctive tobacco. Makes me think of a fire cured Kentucky. Something along the lines of a full bodied yet one noted heavy brown twist. Not a favorite of mine, seems a bit cloying. seems that It would make a good blending tobacco. If you are into plain snuffs, this is unique enough that you should give it a go.
    Review for Other / Personal Creations F.U.B.A.R.04-28-2010 02:02AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: HighThis is a review for my Sesame Bruton which was inspired partly by the idea that FUBAR may be Sparrow with coconut oil. A simple mix of sesame oil with some very old Bruton scotch snuff. The results are quite nice. Much easier to snuff. A high nicotine moist dark snuff that sticks and delivers nicotine at a slower and longer rate then dry snuff. The grind was fine but now but now swollen with the oil. I would dare call this a schmalzler and in fact intend to continue attempting to grease up my old American Scotch with other oils. Clarified butter, bacon fat, toasted sesame oil, macadamia nut oil, coconut oil, kukui nut oil (candle nut), and a few other oils are on the list of "to try". Those of you with those big tubes of some not so favored American Scotches should give it a wirl.
    Review for Other / Personal Creations Montecristo04-28-2010 02:12AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: HighAlong the same lines as a cigar snuff this review is for a cigarette tobacco snuff. American Spirit Perique Blend. Beautiful Virginia tobacco with the condimental spice of St. James Perique. Tangy with a fig, raisin, sweet balance to it. I did hydrate a little after grinding which made a big difference in the texture, much softer. Anyone switching to nasal snuff from roll ups should grind a little of their favorite up to see how pleasant (and cheap) this form of tobacco use is.
    Review for Swedish Match Rumney's Export04-30-2010 06:36AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: MediumWhat a delight! A complex eucalyptus/camphor/menthol snuff with underlying an sweetness of flavorings. Definitely competition for the vast array of Poschl menthols. Soft and easy on the nose. This stuff makes me glad I have a place in my rotation for menthols. Well done Swedish Match! A must try for any Poschl style menthol fan.
    Review for Sun Snuff Sher04-30-2010 06:56AMGrind: MediumMoisture: Mediumnicotine: MediumNice cool complex floral snuff. A little strange in the multi-faceted odors. Long lasting if not cloying. Has a certain fruity component like grapefruit. Very interesting as are most authentic snuffs from India are. Rose and camphor are what inspired me to get this one. I got a little more than I bargained for, in fact this snuff is downright confusing. 
    Review for Dholakia Swiss Chocolate08-24-2010 03:44AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: HighThe Dholakia Limited Chocolate has the same yummy Swiss Chocolate scent in a FUBAR Grunt type base.I would suspect that all the Limited flavors that Tom at Nicotine Rush sold were of this wonderful Grunt tobacco. Good for you if you were one of the fortunate buyers. 
    Review for F.U.B.A.R. Medic08-24-2010 03:57AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: HighReally good in my opinion. If you liked Grunt and you like menthols, you will love this stuff. Medic delivers a good amount of nicotine too. This seems to be easier to take than a lot of the other menthols out there due to the oil base. There is no getting around having it swell my sinuses after a while so I can't give it all five stars.
    Review for Quit With Snuff Sandalwood08-24-2010 04:17AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: HighPlain Sandalwood in a decent tobacco base. That is if sandalwood can be called plain. On the verge of being soapy this scent would make a great fixative for a floral mix. Good nic hit but the scent lasts a little too long for me. Sandalwood for me, does not feel good in the nose and the scent however pleasant becomes annoying after a while.
    Review for Sun Snuff Pari08-24-2010 04:28AMGrind: MediumMoisture: Very MoistNicotine: HighExotic aroma that is perfectly balanced in all aspects with strong tobacco to boot. This stuff is simply delicious. Very cool to the touch and gentle in the nose with a full and heady floral and fruit fragrance. Highly recommended! 
    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Chocolate Orange08-24-2010 04:42AMGrind: MediumMoisture: DryNicotine: LowI'm not a big fan of this one it's just too mild in every respect almost to the point of being boring. It makes a great addition to my "box of chocolates" collection though.
    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Gold Label08-24-2010 04:49AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: HighThis snuff is great! The base tobacco is outstanding. I did receive it factory fresh so that does play a part in my opinions. I do seem to like darker snuffs though. I'll definitely need to get more of this blend soon.
    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow S.S.08-24-2010 04:55AMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumVery light pale tobacco with a good citrus burn. What is not to like. S.S. reminds me of the S.P.#1 snuff in a lot of respects. If you are into S.P,'s you will enjoy having this around.
    Review for Samuel Gawith Dr. Verey's Full08-24-2010 05:02AMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumA pleasant clove mint blend. Very enjoyable. It's a little more complex then that but the details escape me. Worth a try if you are looking for something a little different than the usual floral fruit citrus toast snuffs.
    Review for Fribourg & Treyer Morocco03-13-2011 09:00PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: LowWonderfully scented by this citrusy type of geranium. Very good tobacco base that balances out the scent perfectly. A little fine in grind, I would prefer this scent in a Princes type of snuff. I'm glad that I have come around to try it as the scent is superb.
    Review for Fribourg & Treyer Morlaix03-13-2011 09:13PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: LowPleasant well balanced flavor profile. Soft tobacco scents peek though but do not boast as in other scented F&T snuffs.The scent is slightly musky hinting at floral but coming though as more like a cologne. 
    Review for Gawith Hoggarth Jasmin03-13-2011 09:18PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumVery nice and smooth jasmine scent. Much less sharp than the wos version. Well done and very enjoyable. I was put off by the wos and would not have tried this if it had not been gifted to me. So glad it was. 
    Review for J&H Wilson Top Mill no. 103-13-2011 09:23PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumVery nice! Great tobacco flavor profile. Light and nutty with a hint of citrus. 
    Review for M.L.P. Distributors Ntsu Menthol (Green)03-13-2011 09:27PMGrind: Extra CoarseMoisture: Very MoistNicotine: HugeI prefer this over the black due to the menthols effect of covering the ammonia scent. Still a very heavy snuff that requires a certain mood for taking. 
    Review for M.L.P. Distributors Ntsu (Black)03-13-2011 09:33PMGrind: Extra CoarseMoisture: Very MoistNicotine: HugeI prefer Taxi snuff as my gwayi of choice but Ntsu would do in a pinch. This stuff tips the scale in heaviness. Not so bad really. Easy enough to empty a tin on a binge. Ntsu just doesn't have the full flavor that Taxi does.
    Review for Gawith Hoggarth Kendal Brown03-13-2011 09:52PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: MediumPlain, easy to take, pure tobacco pleasure. Everything I could ask for in a dark unscented tobacco snuff. This is my favorite style of snuff. The PH burn is perfect. The tobacco scent fantastic. Good stuff. Do not bother with a dry 10gm sample. Get a tub!
    Review for Gawith Hoggarth Scented Kendal Brown03-13-2011 10:03PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MoistNicotine: MediumSimply delicious! GH's perfect Kendal Brown base with a slight cedar and Geranium Africani scent. This is my best guess. As for a scented KB, this one is spot on. I'm not sure I will be using as much of their regular KB with this stuff at my finger tips. A++ al the way. Now that GH snuffs are available in tubs rather than the drying tap boxes I am sure to take a deeper look into their entire range. Classic snuff here!
    Review for McChrystals Anisette12-06-2011 09:17PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumA favorite scent of mine wonderfully executed in the tasty McChrystals flour. Nice and sweet anise meets tobacco with it's own unique charm. A stimulating and invigorating herb is user friendly in the form of snuff. Anise is used so frequently to support licorice as a flavor that some use them interchangeably as a description. Knowing better I can appreciate the true anise scent that Anisette has to offer. Gladly no menthol is there to disturb the scent or disrupt it's use by causing sinus swelling. Care will be taken to not let this dry out as a dry McChrystals can be quite sharp (physically). 
    Review for Wilsons of Sharrow Spearmint Plus12-06-2011 09:30PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumI much prefer spearmint to peppermint and this stuff delivers in spades. Coming across nice and sweet on the standard Wilsons flour. A superb herb to have in your nose with it's special brain stimulating powers. This could pass as a tobacco free snuff if it was judged by the scent alone. Perfect for my good morning snuff. Mild, flavorful, and invigorating.
    Review for Samuel Gawith C.C.C.12-07-2011 07:56PMGrind: MediumMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumA light menthol clove snuff, simply put. The root herbs support the scent but clove is dominant. I would guess that common root beer herbs are in this. Sassafras, sarsaparilla maybe, it's hard to tell. If you like cloves C.C.C. would be worth trying. The menthol is very light and the background herbs are interesting. 
    Review for De Kralingse Musinotabak12-07-2011 08:10PMGrind: CoarseMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumA very interesting herbal combination to the Hollandse Bolongaro. Very aromatic and long lasting. I get a more savory and vegetal scent than fruity. The herbs seem to accentuate the vegetable qualities of tobacco and blend seamlessly with that aspect of it's character. Definitely something I like to have lingering in my nose and not something I would easily tire of. Musinotabak is a one of a kind must try for all serious snuff enthusiasts.
    Review for De Kralingse Gingerbread12-07-2011 08:20PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumWorcestershire as a snuff scent is amazing. I would never have thought this but it's so true. In combination with ginger, cinnamon, clove and orange peel makes for an absolute winner of a snuff. A sweet desert for the nose. Don't hesitate to try some.
    Review for Other / Personal Creations Neffa Ifrikia12-07-2011 08:33PMGrind: Extra FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: HugeGreat tobacco scent akin to a fermented Toque Quit. This snuff has the power of the white snuffs. Nice plastic container too. Neffa Ifricia makes my nose feel good and doesn't cause any excessive drip. Glad I tried it. I hope I can get more.
    Review for Samuel Gawith Otterhound12-07-2011 08:41PMGrind: FineMoisture: MediumNicotine: MediumOverly perfumed cologne scent. I wouldn't want to wear it let alone shove it up my nose. Avoid this if you can. Let the F&T snuffs will handle your perfumery needs. Be careful if you have it because it will contaminate the environment.
  • Cut and paste on to a word doc then onto here? How many out of interest?

    Very good by the way!
  • Yes cut and past to a word doc then to here. I did do some editing as there is a limited amount of space allowed. By the way your not as fat of a cop as I thought.
  • Oh thanks.
  • You've always been on the edge, but I think you've finally lost it, Jux.
  • Wow, that's an unbelievable list there, Juxtaposer. Great to have them in one place to read of the ones I've never tried, thanks!
  • Well, it could be done here, to have a "Reviews" section, and the name of each snuff a sticky. With the reviews of it posted, sorta like what was recently done at snuson.
  • ermtonyermtony Member
    edited January 2010 PM
    The usefulness of the Snuff Reviews site for me is partly due to the way it is set out by manufacturer and snuff. It makes it easy to find what you're looking for. The few inconsistencies are not so drastic.

    I'm not sure if that sort of structure could be easily replicated in a forum environment, but I'd be happy to be proved wrong of course.
  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited January 2010 PM
    Here are some of my bottles ,boxes and jars... image
  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited January 2010 PM
    A few I left out... image
  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited January 2010 PM
    Put away at my desk... image
  • JuxtaposerJuxtaposer Member
    edited January 2010 PM
    The snuff drawers...image
  • very nice collection!
  • Wow, so organized. My stuff is piled in plastic bags, stacked on my desk, thrown in corners, etc.
  • I'm with Nachman on the organisation front. Seems like parting of the fun of snuffing is the thrill of hunting out the right tin :P
  • I still have to hunt for stuff... sometimes. Like, I can't find my Black Currant from Stitch.
  • Bump
  • Bump...and thank you Juxtaposer.
  • For people having trouble finding a certain review, I have a tip for ya. In most browsers you can press Ctrl + F and it brings up a little search box which searches the page for you.
  • Wow, so many reviews in one place!
Sign In or Register to comment.