The Homebrewing Thread

Let’s see if there’s anyone here that likes to make their own brews. Mead, beer, wine, what have you got in the fermenting chamber? I’m sitting on a 5 gallon batch of a hoppy blonde ale right now. Put it up for fermentation Saturday evening, so it’s probably due to start showing some airlock activity today or tomorrow with the temperature it’s at. Thinking about brewing a dunkelbock this weekend just to have some variety.

Count me in. Been brewing my own for about 15 years.  Nothing on the go at the moment but do a mix of all grain beers and some kits if I feel lazy.

2 Likes

Edited because of more info. Welcome to the thread, @GlasgowSnuff !

2 Likes

Have an evil dog kit to get started but it is a strong one so will not be ready for Christmas 

2 Likes

I started brewing with extract kits a few years ago with the thought that after a few batches it was cheaper than paying 10 USD for a six pack of good beer. Then I found a discount beer store near my house that always has a selection of 15 to 20 craft beers on super sale 5 USD per 6 pack or 18 USD per 24 case. All the sudden homebrewing was no longer the best frugal option. I still enjoy it and whip up a few 5 gallon batches a year. Going to try a lager this winter as my storage room stays a pretty consistent 40 degrees farenhieght during the cold months. Then in summer I will try some Saisons when that room starts to hit a consistent 80. I also make some fruit wines when we have a bumper crop of strawberries or when the neighbor drops off a five gallon bucket of apples. Edit? great idea for a thread!

2 Likes