Vintage snuff

Just like cigars and pipe tobacco, tobacco snuff relies on a good storage environment to maintain it’s aromas and overall condition.  Based on your container’s lack of rust, the snuff has obviously been stored in a relatively dry environment for 40 years.  Also, the container on these is mostly cardboard, correct?   Not the best for long term storage as paper is porous.  No wonder the aroma you get is cardboard.

I’ve read where most snuff users transfer their blends over to glass jars with tight fitting lids for long term storage. And some go further by keeping these jars stored in the refrigerator or freezer.  This generally keeps the moisture and original flavors from evaporating.  Chef Daniel goes a step beyond and lines his jars with thin wood in order to facilitate even better aging of his complex tobacco blends.

Note I’m not a snuff expert in any way, but have smoked cigars and pipes for 20 years.

1 Like

Dry scotches usually have a smoky flavor . You can certainly introduce  flavor back into this snuff. If you want a smoky flavor you can buy liquid smoke at the food store and add a few drops into a snuff box full. Or flavor it with any scent you like the posibuilitys are endless . Tobacco does not rot but can go moldy.