How long do you keep snuff in your nose?

I’m new to snuff, and I’m wondering, how long do you keep a pinch in before you blow your nose?  How fast is the nicotine from snuff absorbed?  I mean, I don’t want to keep the pinch in just to have it sit there after it’s finished doing its job - any more than I would want to keep sucking on the filter of a cigarette I’ve stubbed out - but at the same time, I want to reap all the goodness I can from my pinch.  Is most of the nicotine absorbed once the initial burn has worn off?  I’m just confused about this.  With a cigarette, cigar, or pipe, you know when it’s over.  With snuff and snus, it’s very open-ended.  I could practically use smoking my cigarette as a kitchen timer, whereas with non-combustive forms of tobacco it’s very non-definitive.  What about when you take a pinch of snuff and then sneeze almost immediately thereafter - do you get anything from that, or is it just a waste of tobacco?

I just listen to my nose.  It lets me know when to blow.  Different varieties will alter the timing.  Toasts - it feels like I never need to blow.  Whereas something like Elmo’s - gotta blow within a few seconds!

I personally don’t worry too much about the nicotine absorption vs. length in nose question.  Snuff is cheap enough that I don’t feel like I’m “wasting” any like I did with smokes.

1 Like

When I of think it, I like to clean out my nose before I go to bed - seems like a good idea.  Other than that, I only blow my nose if the snuff is tickling, feeling weird, clogging, or whatever other reason there may be.  My nose doesn’t seem to agree with the Abraxas coarse snuffs.  No matter how much I try to overcome the grind, I’m always blowing it out immediately.