WoS Jockey Club

Due to this thread I ordered 10 gs from Mr Snuff with some other things. This is better when aired properly to yield its over the top scent. The forals, including some F&Ts seemed much more floral years ago I when I tried them, but this might be just anno domisnout.

The fanciful association between the Jockey Club and the snuff bearing the name is described by the perfumer A. Ellis in ‘Essence of Beauty’. The passage is quoted on page 43 of ‘Snuff Yesterday and Today’ by C.W Shepherd.

The other day I was in a hurry and forgot my various smashboxes when I left the house. Thankfully there was some Jockey Club and L260 in my desk draw at work. I mixed them together, 50:50. 'Twas unusual, but quite pleasant, and something I would actually repeat. I find both of them a bit overpowering when taken straight.

1 Like

@TheBoggart - That could certainly be an interesting mix, I’ll give that a go sometime. I’m fairly new to mixing (hence my thread a couple of months ago asking about it) but I like both Jockey Club and Hedges L260, so together they could form a nice nasal adventure or something. I’ve mixed Hedges with others but haven’t mixed JC with anything yet.

Am I wrong in suggesting that Poeschl’s Packard Club is their own version of Jockey Club - and hence akin to a 50:50 JC/L260 mixture?

Packard’s Club is more bergamot or lemon scented, and already mentholated. Jockey Club is very floral.

WoS Jockey Club is one of the few snuffs I’ve tried that really didn’t suit me. Yes, it’s abundantly floral, but there’s no harmony between the various ingredients – it’s one big discordant clash, IMO.

JC was always sold as a ‘ladies snuff’ it being perfumed and all that…

I could be mistaken, but I think you all were just called a bunch of sissies… :slight_smile:

No, not at all, just because the ladies preferred it…

And remember gillybean129 is a lady, and worked at t’ other mill.