OT - Driving Test

As much as I’d like to tell you I was sat here with a tin of Toque champagne, celebrating the fact I was now legally qualified to drive, I can’t :frowning: It appears my ability to remember what the speed limit in a traffic calming zone and to do 360° observation whilst trying to reverse around a corner have failed me. There’s a long list of expletives that describe how I feel, but I shan’t share them. Time to condole myself with some O&G and start working out how I’m going to afford the £100 needed to do it all again.

£100! Ouch! Our rates just went up (in Florida). To renew our DL it is now $48 compared to the $10 it was before, and our tags now cost over $80 compared to $46. Highway robbery, pun intended.

I’m a late driver, in that while many were driving at 16, and even had their own cars, I never got my license till my mid 20’s. But I never had anyone “teach” me. I knew the basics and had driven before. But I took Sears Driving School, it was maybe $200 total, I can’t remember how many drive times that included, maybe 4? But it was easy as heck, and we, the teacher and I even drove to the lisence place and I passed it all right away.

I was late to get my license too. My parents wouldn’t let me get it until I got good grades in school and well… I think i was a legal adult before I got it! In my high school the joke was that you could tell the teacher’s parking lot from the students lot by the type of cars. The teacher’s lot had Hondas and Toyotas, the student’s lot had Trans Ams and Corvettes. My first car was a 1974 Vega that I paid $400.00 for, btw.