Cob pipes

A few things on the topic actually. I have been smoking a pipe for about 7 years now and have tried hard wood, cobs, and briars, and its the cob that I will reach for more and more these days. In fact I only pull out an old briar when I am outside working because I don’t want to puff overzealously and burn out my cobs. Now that my fanboy rant is over, here is a question for everyone else. They are called Missouri Meerschaums for a reason, so what is the darkest one you own and how long have you been smoking it? I would share my own but I had to start my cob collection anew recently for reasons I won’t trouble you all with. So they all look rather fresh.

Only being an occasional pipe smoker, and only having really got back into it in April, none of my cobs are particularly darkened yet. My beater pipe isn’t a cob though, it’s a MM bent cherrywood ozark. A little more durable than a cob, but just as cheap, super light if I need to clench (I prefer not to), smokes great, and it looks a little more “pipe-like” to the casual observer.

2 Likes

I’m not a big pipe smoker, and was wondering if an expensive $200 pipe works any different than a corn cob pipe. Does one give you better smoke flow or increase the flavor of the tobacco you are using. If there isn’t much of a noticeable difference why are some pipes hundreds of dollars?